How to Reset Restrictions Passcode on iPhone


One brilliant function of the iPhone is its Restrictions feature. It offers significant benefits to users if they know how to use it properly. This feature requires a Restrictions passcode so that unauthorized users can’t change your settings. However, a problem arises when you forget your Restrictions passcode.

No, your Restrictions passcode isn’t the same as your device passcode. There’s a difference between the two. Your iPhone device passcode is the code that you need to enter so that you can unlock and use your iPhone. Without your device passcode, you won’t be able to access your iPhone and its features. You either enter your device passcode to unlock your iPhone or use Touch ID or Face ID.

On the other hand, your iPhone Restrictions passcode’s jurisdiction is only your Restrictions settings. You can only open and change your Restrictions settings if you know and enter your Restrictions passcode. Hence, you don’t have to worry that unauthorized people (like kids) may change your Restrictions settings.

Each code is set up separately. Therefore, you can use different codes for these. While you can also use the same code for both, it’s not the best option in terms of security. It would still be best to have different passcodes for different purposes. However, what if you forget your Restrictions passcode?

How to Reset Restrictions Passcode on iPhone

You’ll have to face the hard truth if you really can’t remember your Restrictions passcode anymore – you’ll have to erase your iPhone. Now, this may seem extreme, but Apple takes security seriously. It has its ups and downs. While you’re sure that your data is safe and secure, it also means that it’ll be hard to go around issues such as forgetting your passcode. This is what makes this feature so important in terms of data security.

Erasing your iPhone and setting it up from scratch shouldn’t be difficult. However, it is time-consuming. So before you give up, make sure that you’ve already thought of all the possible codes you could think of. If you still can’t remember it, then it might be time to erase your iPhone. There are three ways of erasing your iPhone so you could reset your Restrictions passcode. You can do this using a factory reset, your iCloud, or Recovery Mode.

Before you do anything else, ensure that you’ve backed up all your data from your iPhone. Erasing your device means that no data will be left behind and it might be impossible to retrieve it afterward.

Option 1: Erase Your iPhone With a Factory Reset

The easiest way to erase your iPhone is by resetting it to its factory settings. Doing so would erase everything from your iPhone, which includes the Restrictions passcode. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Scroll down the list and select General.
  3. Near the bottom-most portion of the list, tap on Reset.
  4. Select Erase All Content and Settings. Onscreen prompts will appear to verify that you want to continue erasing all content and settings on your iPhone.
  5. After your iPhone has been erased, you can simply set it up again and that includes your Restrictions passcode.

Option 2: Erase Your iPhone Using iCloud

Is your iPhone not with you? You can also remotely erase your iPhone using your iCloud account. That way, you can erase it even if it’s not on your hand. This can also be useful if your iPhone was stolen. Just follow these simple steps:

  1. On a computer, open a browser and go to iCloud.com.
  2. Log into your iCloud account using the Apple ID that’s also used on your iPhone.
  3. Select Find iPhone.
  4. Choose All Devices located at the top of the screen. This will look for all Apple devices associated with that Apple ID.
  5. Select the iPhone that you want to erase from the list.
  6. Click on Erase iPhone. Onscreen prompts will appear to verify that you want to continue erasing your iPhone.
  7. After erasing your iPhone, you can just set it up again once you have it on hand.

Option 3: Erase Your iPhone Using Recovery Mode

You can also erase your iPhone using Recovery Mode. Do note that this is usually the last option among the three and should only be done if the first two won’t work. People resort to this method only when their iPhones have other underlying problems such as software issues. To use this method, you must have iTunes on your computer. Here’s what you need to do to erase your iPhone using Recovery Mode:

  1. Turn off your iPhone.
  2. Make sure that the iTunes app is closed on your computer. Depending on the iPhone model you have, follow these steps:
  • iPhone 6S and older: Plug your lightning cable into your iPhone. Press and hold the Home button and connect the USB end of the cable to your computer. Do not release.
  • iPhone 7 series: Plug your lightning cable into your iPhone. Press and hold the Volume Down button and connect the USB end of the cable to your computer. Do not release.
  • iPhone 8 and later: Plug your lightning cable into your iPhone. Press and hold the Lock/Unlock button and connect the USB end of the cable to your computer. Do not release.
  1. Wait until the Connect to iTunes screen shows up on your iPhone. After it appears, you can release the button that you’re pressing on your iPhone.
  2. On your computer, your iTunes should open and a pop-up window should appear prompting you to Update or Restore your iPhone. Select Update and simply follow the instructions on the screen.


Ayran

Ayran is an adventurous millennial always on the lookout for the latest discoveries and innovations in the digital world. She likes traveling, trying out new food, and learning about different cultures. A bookworm, she enjoys reading during her free time.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published.