How to Stop Health From Tracking Steps on iPhone


Apple’s Health app has been here for a while and tons of people use it to count their steps every day. Some people find it useful to know how many steps they take and how they can contribute to their overall physical well-being. However, some users prefer to use a different device to count their steps.

If you’d like the Health app to stop tracking your steps on your iPhone, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Scroll down the list and tap on Privacy.
  3. From the list, select Motion & Fitness.

  1. Below the Fitness Tracking option, you’ll find a list of apps that monitor your steps. If you don’t have any third-party apps that offer this feature, then you’ll only find Health on the list. Toggle it off to disable its access to your movement sensor data.

Want to prevent all apps from tracking your steps? You can simply disable the Fitness Tracking feature. That will stop all apps from having access to your activity data. But if your only concern is with the Health app, then disabling its access is the way to go.

With that said, your previous steps data are still logged into the system though. If you want to delete all your previous data, you have the option to do so. Follow these steps to clear your steps data from your iPhone:

  1. Open the Health app on your iPhone.
  2. Under the Summary category, select the Steps section. You might have to look for it on this page because its location is based on whether you’ve used the other features offered by the Health app.

  1. After selecting Steps, scroll down to the bottom of the list and tap on Show All Data. From here, your screen will display all the Steps data that you have stored on your iPhone. Depending on when you enabled this feature, it can show you steps from days, weeks, or months ago.
  2. Tap on Edit located at the upper-right corner of the screen.

  1. From this point, you can selectively delete data from specific days. On the other hand, you can also opt to delete all of your steps data in one go. You can do this by selecting Delete All located at the upper-left corner of the screen.

  1. Confirm that you wish to delete all your data and you’re done.

Once you’ve deleted all your steps data from the Health app and you’ve disabled its tracking feature, it will no longer have any recorded data from you. This ensures that your activities are now and will remain private on your iPhone. If you want to take privacy a step further, you can also opt to disable your Location Services for certain apps. That way, you get to control who has access to your movement as well as your location.


Ayran

Ayran is an adventurous millennial always on the lookout for the latest discoveries and innovations in the digital world. She likes traveling, trying out new food, and learning about different cultures. A bookworm, she enjoys reading during her free time.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published.